On 23 January 1932 the Metropolitan Lands Department gazetted the site and officially dedicated it on 8 October 1937 with the first burial taking place on 24 April 1940. The Anglican Archbishop of Sydney, The Most Reverend HWK Mowll, consecrated the cemetery on 20 February 1955.

Until 1990 the cemetery was known as Frenchs Forest General Cemetery. The change to the present name reflects the serene bushland setting. Management’s aim was to design for and utilise the existing native vegetation to reinforce the unique bushland character of the cemetery.

Always caring for the community in all its diversity